Abbey Vocational School
Donegal Town

Student Voice

Student  Voice


"Promoting and facilitating the development of student voice, student participation, and student leadership".


  • To recognise students as stakeholders, value their views, and ensure their involvement in the operation of the school.
  • To ensure that the student council is democratically elected and representative, and is a catalyst for change, with an active role in decision-making and policy development
  • To support students in taking leadership roles by facilitating relevant training and providing opportunities to lead school initiatives.
  • To consult and engage with students to review and improve teaching, learning and assessment practices.

Adapted from 'Looking at Our School 2016: A Quality Framework for Post-Primary Schools'

In the Abbey Vocational School, students working in partnership with the staff and the wider school community is very important to the success of our school. Please see the leadership teams for 2021 2022 in the AVS.

Head Boy - Conor Campbell

Head Girl - Savannah Timoney

Deputy Head Boy - Setanta Tanham

Deputy Head Girl - Ellen Canavan

Senior Prefects:

Aoibheann Gallagher

Rebecca Morrow

Emily McNulty

Abbie Chambers

Emma Farren

Ella Doherty

Lily Doherty

Eva Jichi

Eilish McGrory

Nora Carr

Rachel Gallagher

Pauric Monaghan

Jack Myers

Ryan Glenn

Dan Dunnion

Rachel Reid

Amy McInern

Junior Prefects:

Emma Thomas

Aishling Murphy

Caoilfhinn Deely

Laura Kelly

Aimee Anderson

Louise Connolly

Fara Alcock

Patrick Babik

Dermot McGuckin

Kyle Murray

Shane Breslin

Jamie Cassidy-Callaghan

1st-year mentors

Catherine Whiteside

Eileen Mcdermott

Marisa Harley

Blaithin Murphy

Rebecca Kelly

Helen Howells

Grace Dunlevy

Jason Yang

Aug 25
Staff Inservice Day
Aug 26
First years commence school (half day)
Aug 27
First years full day at school
Aug 30
6th & 3rd Years return to school
The Glebe, Donegal Town, Co. Donegal, F94A409.
074 97 21105
© 2021 Abbey Vocational School