Abbey Vocational School
Donegal Town

Student Voice

Student  Voice


"Promoting and facilitating the development of student voice, student participation, and student leadership".


  • To recognise students as stakeholders, value their views, and ensure their involvement in the operation of the school.
  • To ensure that the student council is democratically elected and representative, and is a catalyst for change, with an active role in decision-making and policy development
  • To support students in taking leadership roles by facilitating relevant training and providing opportunities to lead school initiatives.
  • To consult and engage with students to review and improve teaching, learning and assessment practices.

Adapted from 'Looking at Our School 2016: A Quality Framework for Post-Primary Schools'

In the Abbey Vocational School, students working in partnership with the staff and the wider school community is very important to the success of our school. Please see the leadership teams for 2021 2022 in the AVS.

Student Body Leadership Team

Head Boy - Conor Campbell

Head Girl - Savannah Timoney

Deputy Head Boy - Setanta Tanham

Deputy Head Girl - Ellen Canavan

Student Body Leaders

Senior Prefects

Aoibheann Gallagher

Rebecca Morrow

Emily McNulty

Abbie Chambers

Emma Farren

Ella Doherty

Lily Doherty

Eva Jichi

Eilish McGrory

Nora Carr

Rachel Gallagher

Pauric Monaghan

Jack Myers

Ryan Glenn

Dan Dunnion

Rachel Reid

Amy McInern

Senior Prefect Team

Junior Prefects

Emma Thomas

Aishling Murphy

Caoilfhinn Deely

Laura Kelly

Aimee Anderson

Louise Connolly

Fara Alcock

Patrick Babik

Dermot McGuckin

Kyle Murray

Shane Breslin

Jamie Cassidy-Callaghan

1st-year mentors

Catherine Whiteside

Eileen Mcdermott

Marisa Harley

Blaithin Murphy

Rebecca Kelly

Helen Howells

Grace Dunlevy

Jason Yang

TY Peer Mentors

Scott Browne

Luke Darnell

Katie Furey

Jane Faulkner

Aimee Gillespie

Jayne Glenn

Robyn Given

Amy McGroary

Kayleigh Boyle

Rachel Boyle

Maeve McCauley

Hannah McCaughan

Ava Kennedy

Abbie Bustard

Emma Sweeney

Zoe Gallagher

Ciara Cannon

Aisling Kee

Lily Reid

Conor Lang

Eve O’Donnell

Meabh McNamara

Shannon Meehan

Tori Murchan

Roisin Lynch

Class Caption

Oct 25
Holidays - Midterm break
Nov 02
School Leavers Info Evening 7-9pm
Nov 11
P/T Meeting 3rd year
Nov 24
P/T Meeting 6th / LCA2
Abbey VS Newsletter - Mon 11th Oct 2021
Abbey VS Newsletter - Mon 4th Oct 2021
The Glebe, Donegal Town, Co. Donegal, F94A409.
074 97 21105
© 2021 Abbey Vocational School